Adventures in Parenting
Comments 9

Reading to my 1-year-old

“Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.” – W.B. Yeats

I experienced a minor parenting realization recently.  I was slightly afraid that my 1-year-old might not like to read.  It turns out, his reading materials just aren’t age appropriate.  This should have been apparent to me when I was reading him One Fish, Two Fish.  (Crazy long for a kids book and a bit weird to boot.)

Interest has been piqued.

We have an assortment of books that seem guaranteed to entertain, but without guidance, he prefers chewing on them to flipping through them.  (Cardboard books are great for teething if you don’t mind your kid eating paper.)

Going for it

Thankfully, my concern didn’t last long.  While researching education methods (relating to a separate concern arising from all the Common Core buzz lately), I discovered that 1-year-olds maybe aren’t that interested in detailed stories and that On the Night You Were Born was probably written more for me, or at least for a bit older audience.  (I can’t help but hope he’ll enjoy Tillman’s books eventually though.)  I learned it’s okay to read to your toddler while they scoot around the bed, banging on the wall and giggling as they throw themselves onto a pillow pile.  Somehow, they’ll benefit from the reading experience anyway.

Trying the owl now

I enjoyed the research though and have discovered a lot about the world of childhood education.  I especially learned from reading personal accounts of how other families are navigating educating their children.  I was really inspired by Lacey Myers who shares her experiences in homeschooling her sons and her beautiful storytelling photos on her blog.

Shutting it down

So, after all that, I’m wishing all parents navigating the road to raising an “insert-appropriate-adjective-here” child the best.

Resignation

This post was inspired by The Daily Post prompt.

9 Comments

  1. The pictures are beautiful… and the theme is one we have here, too. Our daughter is almost 11 months, and she does love books (as well as eating them). But they have to be under a certain length and either rhyme or have pictures of dogs to hold her interest. I keep trolling through the library and bringing home books that I love, and facing the realization that she probably won’t get them for another few years… But, for some fun for you, you might want to try the BabyLit series. They are easy reading primers, but adults can get a laugh out of the somewhat random references from classic books.

    Like

    • This is super helpful. Thank you! I pick up books for myself at the library all the time. I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me to check out some for him too! I’ll definitely look for the BabyLit series. Our son likes dogs as well. Go Dog Go is one of the few he perks up for, although only for a few pages. 🙂

      Like

      • I don’t like a lot of the books she likes right now, so I don’t want to get stuck owning stuff like “Dinosaur Roar” (which is one of the better ones, actually)

        She went nuts for Taxi Dog- but we have a dog and live in New York City, so I think all the pictures actually looked like real life to her. Then we got her this pretty boring book called “Please Take Me for a Walk” that’s basically entirely pictures of dogs, and every time the main dog makes puppy eyes at the reader, she squealed at the page.

        Honestly, I had no idea what to do with her when I brought her home, so I was like, “Umm, I guess I’ll just read? No one can accuse me of being a bad parent for reading to her too much…”

        Like

      • Lol! There can’t possibly be such a thing as too much reading to a child and it sounds like it’s working! I’m finding that our son likes the interactive books best. We have two “push and pop” ones that are pretty good at keeping his attention. The way he goes at them sometimes though, I’m afraid that library books might end up missing pieces!

        Like

  2. One of our small people really started to take to books a little after turning one. Since then it’s been a daily adventure – with tears sometimes about putting books down. We adore all sorts of reading and find that introducing new stories sometimes works best by a shorter retelling of the story a few times (skipping pages) before we go on to read all the words. Works well : )

    Enjoy the ride! And all those chewed books.

    Like

    • That’s heartening to hear and thanks so much for the tips! I’ll give shortening the story a try. It’s definitely hard to keep his attention on the longer ones, but he seems to enjoy looking at the illustrations.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Commenting on a Prompt Post – Day 13 [Blogging 101] | Blogenture

  4. Haha. That’s about the stage of our baby. Books in the mouth! But I would rather have him chew up board books than something else on the floor. Keep reading whatever it is. Engage his interests now. Reading is powerful and when kids can choose what they read they are more inclined and motivated to want to read later in life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

