Personal Projects
Leave a Comment

365 project inspiration

“Few things are impossible to diligence and skill.  Great works are performed not by strength, but by perseverance.” – Samuel Johnson

Sometimes I find myself staring at the clock as bedtime approaches trying to figure out an interesting daily shot for my 365 project.  Sometimes this means taking a picture of said clock.

Some days, I think ahead and have a shot in mind.

Bath toys

And some days I just get lucky and come across a shot after a little patience.

Lookers
There are lots of days in a year and some shots are bound to be more interesting than others.  I needed a bit of inspiration this week and I was so glad to come across this post from the New York Times photography blog LENS featuring the Times Magazine photography director Kathy Ryan’s “office romance” shots from her camera phone at the Times building.  Her shots are simple and compelling and a reminder to look for beauty in simplicity and that you don’t need a fancy camera to take beautiful photos.
As the weather gets cooler, it’s a bit harder to be motivated to go outside to find shots, so her office romance shots came at an opportune time.  Particularly as I found myself at the office on a rainy day with no shot in mind.  I’m afraid I pale in comparison, but I’m happy to say my shot was inspired by Kathy and that I’ll keep trying!
Office window
If you’re not familiar, a 365 photo project is simply committing to taking a photo every day.  It’s such a great way to improve your photography, no matter what you shoot.  I post my shots online to stay motivated (and accountable).  The community at 365project is unbeatable for feedback and support and there are multiple Flickr groups as well.
Leave a Reply

