Adventures in Parenting, Family Time, Photography Challenge
Comments 2

Summertime

summer

“Summertime is always the best of what might be.” – Charles Bowden

I can’t remember enjoying a summer this much since I was a kid basking in the break from school.  There was a time in childhood when summer seemed to last forever, but as I got older, the impending start of the new school year seemed to approach faster and loom heavier on the horizon.  Now I have no worries about school and, at least for a few more years, neither does my son.  For now, we just get to savor the joys of heading out to the park, making the most of longer days and later bedtimes.

Most of the time, our son just runs around.  Literally.  Sometimes in circles.  Sometimes to a destination that only he knows.  Sometimes he makes use of a soccer ball or other toy.  Eventually, we find our way to the playground.  It’s so much fun to watch him expend all that energy and remember what it was like to be a child.  And on the best days, remember how to be spontaneous and carefree like only a child can be.

On this day, we enjoyed some watermelon on the grass while my son ran around just before it started raining.  I wanted to capture the details of his dirty face and hands.

I’ve been taking lots of photos this summer that I look forward to sharing, including our trip to the Pacific Northwest.  I hope you’re enjoying a carefree (at least on the weekends!) summer too! 🙂

Posted in response to this week’s “close up” photo challenge.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

